tandem eel - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Striper (etc) Flies Tricks of the trade

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-16-2003, 01:12 PM

tandem eel

I saw this in a book (Popovics?) a while back and decided to give it a try. I used a mustad 34011 and put a bend in it to accomodate both flies. I think I will go with a single when the fish arrive.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	eel tandem.jpg
Views:	143
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	1493  
Advertisement

Old 02-16-2003, 07:00 PM

I'm still learning how to use this new camera and software. Here is a better image. I'll do the same for my other posts as well. Sorry about the crappy pictures the first go round. Constructive criticism is welcome, and needed (I'm always trying to improve!).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	sand eels.jpg
Views:	121
Size:	14.3 KB
ID:	1494  
Old 02-16-2003, 08:16 PM
CantAnchorUs

Being new to the digital photo game myself I can`t help out there, but if you send 6 of each pattern I will gladly fish them for a season and offer you my in depth assessment of thier effectiveness.
Old 02-16-2003, 09:39 PM

Send a message via AIM to neac9 Send a message via Yahoo to neac9
yopu had better make it nine as I will steal at least 3 from him on our next trip lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-17-2003, 09:08 AM
Fly chucker

You're right, that is a Popovics pattern. He calls it his "Schoolie" fly.

BTW, no criticism needed.
Old 02-17-2003, 09:27 AM
President of CAC

If you look back in the archive I also posted the same fly from Pop's book... there look nice but I have never fished it.
Old 02-18-2003, 09:46 AM
_

Thumbs up

Looks nice! I just got Popovics book and I'm planning to try that fly or a variation thereof. A couple of suggestions regarding the fly and photos.