Flounder Around Fly - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Striper (etc) Flies Tricks of the trade

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2002, 09:46 AM
President of CAC

Flounder Around Fly

I woke up last night around 2 and it came to me...Mallard flank feathers... The color and texture not to meantion the tiny lines... so this is my first attempt at the Flounder fly with the Crab Apple concept. Marabou tail with the mallard overhanging for fins... flutter movement is atleast maintained with that material... not sure yet... maybe they should be smaller and I am concerned about the stiffness of the body as a practical matter. Anyway...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc01203.jpg
Views:	252
Size:	16.2 KB
ID:	1071  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-01-2002, 10:39 AM
President of CAC

I realized that the photo really does not show the color.. I have a dark brown foam and will do one with a light brown foam as well to vary the color. The spots are actually brown. Placed it uder a more direct light...this is better.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dsc01204.jpg
Views:	234
Size:	18.3 KB
ID:	1072  
Old 12-01-2002, 11:47 AM
Flats Rat

Brilliant John!

One benefit of leaving the fibres long is that they will move in the current and create the illusion of something alive when the fly is resting on the bottom.

Expect big bass to do head-stands on this one
Old 12-01-2002, 12:29 PM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

That's gonna be tough to beat! As far as stiffness, that accidental flounder I referred to earlier was also epoxy based and the stripers didn't care. I don't think stiffness is necessarily a bad thing as long as it can achieve the right presentation.

My entry will take a while, I have some high priority website work on the table, but let's definitely get the contestants together for a vote at the next NE fly show.
Old 12-02-2002, 08:23 AM