Epoxy Flies - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Striper (etc) Flies Tricks of the trade

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2002, 01:02 PM

Epoxy Flies

This is my first attempt to tie Bob Pops epoxy flies, These are not the flies I will submit to our fly swap.

Critiques welcomed.
Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-17-2002, 01:35 PM
President of CAC

Joe, those are great!... Remember a little trick I do which others will as well... do a first coat of epoxy light enough to set the shape..by that I mean put a light coat which sinks into the material and hold the tail straight out which will keep the material straight out while it sets ..this will also thin the profile out.. If you want a wider profile than let it dry without pulling any tension on the tail... Then put the eye on and gills if the pattern call for that.. then put your second coat on and rotate the fly. Be sure not to touch the epoxy with your fingers, even after it is set and dry otherwise it will dull the shine you have created. Just put it in your box. Also, keep in mind that by holding and pulling on the material out toward the tail while the first coat sets also keeps your hook gap large... so when you pull and keep tension as it sets you are actually moving the material slightly to the top of the hook shank...so that your finished fly will have a very slight upward look to it.

Last edited by striblue; 11-17-2002 at 01:41 PM.
Old 11-17-2002, 01:36 PM

Cool, who is Bob Pops ? and I must tie some of those in a great lakes smelt pattern !!

Who is our SME on epoxy flies I definitely need help, since that is a major to do for this winters tying.

Great job Joe, boy you are quite creative. Never seen tails like those.

Hal
Old 11-17-2002, 01:56 PM

Epoxy Flies

Quote:
Originally posted by pmflyfisher
Cool, who is Bob Pops ? and I must tie some of those in a great lakes smelt pattern !!