Need Advise on a 4-5 trout reel - Fly Fishing Forum
Gear Talk - Fly Stuff Spoken Here Sage advice & fresh perspectives

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2002, 12:49 PM
Recent Member

Need Advise on a 4-5 trout reel

Hello, I'm New in this great Forum.

I want a new 4-5 trout reel in the range of 200-300 bucks.

I like Lamson reels (litespeed and purist), Loop, Bauer, Ross, Galvan and others. I don't like Orvis, but maybe you can tell me which is best because of your experience. I never used all the reels that I put in this post, only the Orvis and the Loop. I need performance but I also like the design.

Well I hope that you can understand my english.

Regards
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-14-2002, 01:01 PM

Any of those would do, there are so many good ones under $ 200 to choice from these days.

BTW, I am an old trout fisherman (40 years) and two weeks ago on vacation used my old Plueger Medalist that is 40 years old which cost $ 15 to $ 20 I believe back then. Now they cost maybe $ 50 but still very cheap.

It still does the job for basic small stream trout fishing, you do not need a very fancy fly reel with the elaborate drags they come with now a days unless you are going for trout in excess of ten lbs or more.

Heck I caught my first great lakes 20 pound king salmon on the fly with the old Plueger Medalist 20 years ago.

For stream trout fishing I would definitely spend the extra money on the rod and line versus the fly reel,

My 2 cents , hope it helps.
Old 08-14-2002, 01:44 PM

have to agree with pmflyfisher here...

No need for a big drag on a 4wt rod. You could spend that kind of money if you were after aesthetics. Personally I bang around my reels so much that I wouldn't consider buying a piece of jewelry for my go-to trout setup..... my .02