Fly Fishing Forum banner

Building a rod from a blank

5K views 3 replies 4 participants last post by  pmflyfisher 
#1 ·
Hello:

I am new to the sport and want to get a good outfit for brakish and light saltwater fishing. I bought an Orvis Battenkill Large Arbor III on eBay and I'm looking for a nice 7 weight rod to go along with it. (Preferrably a four pc.)

I wonder if anybody has had any experience with building their own rod from a blank. There's a site where you can get G Loomis blanks pretty cheap and they sell kits for finishing them. What kind of quality can I expect from a rod that I finish myself specially if I've never done this before?

The blank and the kit runs about $150 for a rod that could cost twice that if bought already finished. Would I be better off just buying a $150 to $200 rod like a Temple Fork Saltwater, Redington RS2 or Wayfarer, or St. Croix Imperial? Which of the finish rods do you recommend? They also sell Elk Horn kits which have a warranty (the G Loomis blanks don't), but I've never heard of them. Does anybody have any experience with these rods?

Finally, how do I know that the blanks are genuine since the website says that they don't have labels? Any guidance will be highly appreciated.

thanks,
Imanuel

See less See more
#2 ·
For many of us, building our own rods is a major adjunct to fly-fishing - just like fly-tying. For your first one, you should either be mentored by someone who's done it before, and/or read something; you need to know how to find the blank's spine, and about guide spacing. After that, just go ahead and enjoy the experience. Your rod won't look as factory-finished as even an inexpensive Korean-assembled model, but it will be more meaningful to you as you use it in the years to come.
And if I'm any example, if you build one rod, it won't be long before you're building another one.

#3 ·
rod kits