S.E. Cape Cod Ramblings and Tips: - Fly Fishing Forum
Stripers and Coastal Gamefish Stripers, Blues, Inshore tuna!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2002, 05:20 AM

S.E. Cape Cod Ramblings and Tips:

Some of this material comes straight from my past experience as chief instructor of the Orvis 2 ½ day saltwater fly fishing schools. Additional material has come from first hand knowledge, gained from my many years of eating, breathing, living and loving the, New England - Cape Cod Inshore Saltwater environment. So, sit back, relax and enjoy this Truly World Class Destination Fishery!

Best (normally) retrieval tactic:
Use a fast, choppy retrieve in 1-2 foot strides. It resembles a fleeing or escaping bait fish. This retrieve will help you catch more fish!!! Guaranteed.

Difference between a tip (stiff-fast action) and mid (medium) flexing rod in the saltwater?
If I was a beginner, I may consider a mid-flex, due to its easier to cast and more forgiving when casting mistakes are made.
But, in the saltwater environment where wind is the norm, a tip flex will cast better w/ more power. A lot of the time, (especially on the flats) distance and speed are important, then the tip flex will work better. It shows your casting mistakes more and casting needs to be pretty good.
One way to look at it is, if you are learning and think you will like it and stick with it, then go for the tip flex and grow into it.
I have a friend who is an expert caster and prefers a mid-flex. I like tip-flex, I cast a little better and farther than he. HA.
The 2 lines I would recommend to have are, clear int. and Orvis 300 gain depth charge.

Flats - Rising or dropping tide?
Randy,