Interested in tying - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2002, 04:01 PM
Sponsor

Interested in tying

Hey I'm new to the fly fishing world and I'm interested in learning to tie some flies. Looks like a relaxing hobby! Anyway anyone have any suggestions on how to go about learning the craft.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-01-2002, 04:21 PM

I'm interested too...

in any info to be shared. I'm curious as to how much you can save by tying your own. My only point of reference is reloading my own ammunition...considerable savings.
Old 05-01-2002, 08:47 PM

Will
I'm sure if you search in the archives you can find a number of threads on starting fly tying. I seem to remember a couple last fall about kits. when you have more specific questions it is easier to answer.

Yukon Delta,
As far as saving money, if you are a very frugal person who buys only the materials for a few specific patterns you may be able to save money. Most people who tie end up experimenting with differrent materials, or buying every good piece of fur or feathers that they see and that eats up (and than some ) any potential savings. What you get is a fly that you know more about how it should fish, and what it imitates. It brings your observation of the environment to a new level and the satisfaction of catching fish on flies you tied is another benefit.

I hope that I haven't discouraged either of you it is a great and relaxing hobby.

Last edited by John Desjardins; 05-01-2002 at 08:56 PM.
Old 05-02-2002, 06:22 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Tying is KEY, in my humble opinion

One of my favorite things about flyfishing is that it really requires a keener sense of awareness to do any good. Anything you catch with a rod in a rodholder has more to do with luck than savvy unless you are talking bluewater.