How *do* you fish in SW? - Fly Fishing Forum
Stripers and Coastal Gamefish Stripers, Blues, Inshore tuna!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2002, 01:38 PM
Will fish for beer

Question How *do* you fish in SW?

I know most of you are going to be absolutely sick and tired of me by the time I actually move out of Missouri and head for VA Beach, but thinking about fishing on the coast consumes about 95% of my day and I want to fill my head with knowledge before I get there.

My next question...After you get all the gear and stuff, how do you use it? Bear in mind that I've been FFing for about 20 years but never had a rod larger than 5-weight and never fished anything salty. (Spey rods don't count )

What are the techniques for fishing saltwater? Where do you find the fish? How do you detect strikes when your fishing in surf? How do you keep from becoming shark food? etc.

Spill your guts, baby! I need to know!

Thanks! You guys have been more than patient and I appreciate that!

Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-23-2002, 01:54 PM
Fly chucker

Redleg- While I don't want to appear to be taking the easy way out, the nature and generality of your queries would probably be addressed best through some excellent books that are available. May I suggest the following:

Flyfishing the Saltwater Shoreline by Ed Mitchell. He has another earlier book, but this one is much more thorough.

Inshore Flyfishing by Lou Taboury. He has another book dealing with only stripers which is also excellent, but this first book is one of my "bibles".

Either or both of two books by Kenny Abrames: Striper Moon or A Perfect Fish: Illusions in Fly Tying .

There are many others, but these deal with saltwater gamefish in the East, especially the Northeast. I realize that you will be in Virginia, but many of the species thrive in those waters as well and the application of technique is universal.