Anybody heard of the NW boat building school? - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2002, 09:06 PM
Mr. Mom

Anybody heard of the NW boat building school?

And do they build river boats? Man, would I love one of these babies for the Sound!
http://www.nwboatschool.org/boats/rowboats.htm

Last edited by Philster; 03-22-2002 at 10:51 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-25-2002, 09:02 AM

Philster,
The school is located in Port Townsend and is very famous through out the world for the new shipwrights they put out. You should go out there and take a look at the work that goes on. I have a classic Phil Rhodes 32 foot sloop that I've been rebuilding for 4 years from top to bottom and anytime I've been stumped on a certain project I go to the school for sugestions. They have always been great to me.
Yes that skiff would be increadible on the sound but if I had one made I'd have a motor box put in so you could run a 10 to 20 hp outboard. By using the motor box your engine would be in the center aft area and totally out of the way for fly casting. It would be like having an inboard. My grand father gave me a skiff like the one you show when I was 6 years old, boy was it fun and the maintance was intense and I was made to learn how and do it all before I could use it every summer.
It would be worth the money to own such a boat.
OC
Old 03-25-2002, 09:09 PM

Old World skills are needed to keep the remaining wooden boat fleet afloat the largest boat in my personal flotila, which includes many, no make that too many, is a 47'xi12'x6' wooden trawler the keel was layed in 1916 in Sitka. The old girl has had more rebuilds than Elizabeth Taylor. Two of the most major were in Port Townsend. There is and are a heritage of good boat building by really qualified shipwrights in that fair town.