Ya wanna talk Environmental Stuff... - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-28-2001, 02:23 PM
Recent Member

Ya wanna talk Environmental Stuff...

Since the shhhhhhh topic is dedicated to letting everyone and their brother in on the arrival of our "special little deer creek friends" I decided to continue the wonderful debate on how crediable the WDFW is.

Since I worked in the Environmental industry for 3 years, here's what I observed going on.

And none of you are going to like it.

1. The government has decided to do some actual real scientific studies on our salmon because of the " Almost Endangered Listings" this has lead to the following:
a. A clamour for government contracts
b. A huge surge in the marine side of environmental consulting
c. Over studying the problem

2. Over studying the problem. We all know what it takes to save the salmon (take all them nets and drop them in acid vats, pretty picture ey?). Why do you ask is it taking so long?

a. Let's milk it to death
b. Let's not come to any conclusion (see a)
c. Let's concentrate on something we can really milk... HABITAT RESTORATION! Jobs, Jobs, Jobs, $$$$$$

Because it would be really easy to just stop all netting and fishing for five years now wouldn't it. Let's see them put that report together?

So if you want to know what's going on right now with our government handling the crisis, they are figuring out how to restore the habitat.

When I tried to submit an article to the DJC environmental section about "What good does it do to restore habitat when they can't get to the already existing habitat to spawn anyway?" it didn't get published.

So that's where they're at, when they actually get to the WHY they aren't returning, that will be when the funding and all the habitat is restored and the dollars have run out. Estimates on that? I have no idea.

YIKES!