Talk me out of tossing my barbless flies - Fly Fishing Forum
Stripers and Coastal Gamefish Stripers, Blues, Inshore tuna!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2000, 05:10 PM

Talk me out of tossing my barbless flies

My last fish on the rip trip was definitely my biggest, last seen @ 100 yds out when it spit the hook.

Saturday on Monomoy I had two big boys take me to the cleaners as well.

I'm looking for suggestions or tips on how others handle big fish. I''ve been using side pressure, trying not to high stick em & break my rod (a little rod shy after the spring Monomoy clave), using barbless hooks.

Any & all suggestions welcome.

Roop
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-06-2000, 06:14 PM
LT 20

RE:Talk me out of tossing my barbless flies

Roop,

As you know I am relatively new to striper and fly fishing, but I like the forum and the people and want to interact as much as possible, to learn as much as I can from you guys. So I'll tell you what a guide, who works out of Wellfleet, told me when I lost a big fish earlier this year. He told me to really wack the fish and set the hook deep as the fish is swimming parallel to me. This way I will not pull the hook out of its mouth as it swims parallel. You said any and all so that is my two cents worth.

Let me know what you think, the rookie needs all the help I can get.

I've been using barbless, sure is a lot easier taking the fish off the hook.

Tight lines,
Craig
Old 08-06-2000, 06:41 PM

Roopster,

I've hit the same roadblock. I lost a couple of nice fish for the exact same reason. I don't plan on keeping any fish so that's why I bend 'em back but, if I'm targeting large fish from now on I'm leaving the barbs intact. It's not a problem to push the hook through the wound and crush the barb for release. Just my .02
Old 08-06-2000, 08:13 PM

Hello Roop;