Fishing in SW Florida - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-03-2011, 04:36 PM

Send a message via AIM to highway61
Fishing in SW Florida

Unlike many of you, I have never fished in the saltwater outside of the northeast. After reading about destinations I could afford, I decided that SW Florida is where I would like to fish. I am planning to go in April. I am especially interested in the Everglades, but would consider other locations. I am hoping to pursue any and/or all of the following: tarpon, snook and redfish. Since I have no experience in that locale I am looking for advice. For those of you who have fished there I would appreciate any and all advice that you have. I especially want recommendations about guides/charters, inexpensive lodging, where I could fish out of a kayak, and places to wade (w/o being gator bait) books, and any other advice that would make my trip more enjoyable.

Thanks,

Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2011, 10:52 AM

I've only fished in the keys but if you're thinking SW, I would look up Joe LeClaire. He would be a good guy to go fishing with I would think. He's been friendly enough when I chatted with him, helpful with advice when I was screwing around kayaking for a day in his neck of the woods, and he has a great kid who is about my son's age.
Old 11-04-2011, 05:46 PM

Steve, Ned Small (Sightfish.com) is my go to guide for the Glades and 10,000 Islands. Kevin Mihaloff is also very good for back country Snook. Joe is probably a good choice too; he's very good up North. I'll give you a call to trade some ideas on logistics. My old winter stomping grounds.
Old 11-04-2011, 09:18 PM

Ned Small