A few beginner's questions - fly tying & hooks - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2010, 09:54 PM

A few beginner's questions - fly tying & hooks

Hi,

As this is my first post here, I'll do a quick intro ... I'm 32yo male from NSW, Australia. Although I've been fly-fishing for many years I still count myself as an absolute beginner because I just haven't been able to put much time into it. I'll be happy for as much advice and tips as I can get! I have a 6# and a 8# rod and 98% of my fishing is done in saltwater estuaries and harbours in NSW. However, I am soon looking at a move to Switzerland, and I'd like to continue fly-fishing there although I don't know anything about fishing in that country.

I've recently started fly-tying, and I have a few questions about the hooks being used:

1 - In most of the books/examples of fly-tying that I've seen, they all use hooks where the eye of the hook is bent down slightly towards the point (like this). I'm assuming this is a desired feature for fly-hooks? Why is that?

2 - When I'm looking to buy hooks, most of the ones that fit the description in the books or web-pages I read are bronzed. But in his book, Lefty Kreh advises not to use bronzed hooks because they rust more quickly. What I'm looking for really is a "standard" hook with a bent-back eye as described above, in sizes 2,4,6,8 & 10 and not bronzed and without barbs on the shank. Also long-shank versions in size 8 and 4 for streamers. I don't mind ordering on-line, but hooks that fit the description seem seem impossible to find (for example, the one above has all those features, but it's bronze); and finding a long-shank version with all those features is doubly as hard. Any advice? Do I really have to avoid using bronzed hooks?