Any reviews on G Loomis' Current Reels? - Fly Fishing Forum
Gear Talk - Fly Stuff Spoken Here Sage advice & fresh perspectives

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2009, 01:29 PM

Any reviews on G Loomis' Current Reels?

I am about to purchase G Loomis' Streamdance GLX (5wt) rod and wanted to put their 5-6 wt. Current Reel with it but I can't find a review out there anywhere for this reel. I'm new to this form, and to fly fishing for that matter but I would sure appreciate some help.

Kind regards,
Danny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-27-2009, 06:39 PM

Hello Danny, I cannot help you on your reel question as this is the first I have heard of this model. However I can welcome you to the forum; Welcome Danny
I hope someone can come along & help you out. I can say this about 5 -6 wt reels, typically fish you would go after with a rod that size do not need a real fancy drag set up or an expensive reel. I find as long as it holds enough line & backing and I can use my palm if needed to apply some drag it will be OK. If the loomis reel looks to be of quality build with good workmanship it should serve you just fine.
Old 01-27-2009, 08:26 PM

Hi Warren,

Thanks for the warm welcome to the forum. I'm hooked on fly fishing and looking forward to learning as much as possible before my big trip in May. Just like taking up golf as a child, I look forward to doing this the rest of my life.

Kind regards,
Danny
Old 02-04-2009, 08:20 AM

No body has used a G loomis current reel??