How to objectively judge a rod? - Fly Fishing Forum
Getting Started The only dumb question is the one not asked

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2007, 01:13 PM

How to objectively judge a rod?

Hi!
I'm returning to fly fishing after 40 years and have done quite a bit of reading in this forum and others. One of the questions that comes to mind is

How do you objectively judge the performance of a rod?

It seems the standard answer is to use what feels good to you. My feeling is that answer is valid, but only as a final way to screen your choices. I'm an engineer by profession so I am naturally curious about what makes a rod perform well.

As a first rod, on my return to the sport, I picked up a used 9 ft 5w 2 pc Orvis Trident TL. So, this is my point of reference. The rod is beautiful and seems to cast OK for me, but in talking with a couple experts, I get the impression that the rod got some kind of bad reputation for "not casting". I searched the internet and only found rave reviews when it was released and not too much else. So, if this rod is not "well behaved" how do I spot the problem?

So, I start to think about the mechanics of casting and objective criteria for judging a rods performance - without casting it. I say, without casting it, because, surely all rods of an excellent performance - whether full flex, mid flex or tip flex - must share some common characteristics.

Let me give you an example. When I give the rod a "wiggle" at about 2 cycles per second, I see a vibration node at my hand an another about 2 feet from the tip of the rod. To the extent that the rod resonance contributes to the cast, I would think that this means something to a rod designer.

Another example. When I abruptly stop my backcast there is some undamped vibration of the rod. Maybe this is my fault and all rods would do this with my back cast, but this vibration would most likely seem to take some power out of the forward cast.