Streams of SE Alaska - Fly Fishing Forum
Getting Started The only dumb question is the one not asked

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-28-2007, 11:34 PM

Streams of SE Alaska

Hello,
I am a beginner fly fisher. I go to Alaska once a year and fish on the streams of Prince of Wales island. I have primarily just used my spinning rod. This year I am planning to do some more fly fishing.
When purchasing fly line for shallow streams, when I am going to be using streamers and egg patterns, do I want to use sinking line? if so, fast sinking, slow sinking? This is one of the reasons I have been avoiding fly fishing, too many variations. If I then go to a lake, do I want different sinking line? If so, how do I switch it out?

Bill
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-29-2007, 12:09 AM

Hi, Bill,

I fished early fall on Prince of Wales last year and found that, in the Klawok and 108 systems at least, a floating line worked just fine for pinks and silvers. I used a nine foot leader and let the fly sink a bit on a slack line. The flies were slightly weighted.

A sink tip line would also have worked well. For stream fishing, full sinking lines are difficult to control and generally unpleasant to fish with.

A full sinking line does work in lakes -- but the big factor here is how deep the fish are feeding. If the fish are near the surface, a floating or sink-tip line will again be effective. Slow sinkers, if you use a full sinking line, are good for lakes. The faster sinking lines tend to pummit to the bottom and snag.

Don't be discouraged by the complexities of the sport. The rewards of working the tackle, gaining skill, and inching towards mastery far outweigh the difficulties in learning the craft.

Hang in there. Keep at it.

I wish I were going to POW again this year. I loved the island and the fishing. Maybe next year.

Good luck!

Eric
Old 05-29-2007, 12:21 AM