Fenwick fly rod ....or - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-15-2007, 08:43 PM

Fenwick fly rod ....or

Howdy all....

I have been checking out the fly fishing forum here and I am impressed with the great information and camaraderie I see from the posts I have read. I am a life long resident of Montana and started fishing when I was 5 years old (36 years of experience now). Rivers, streams, high mountain lakes, summer time or ice-fishing in the deep of winter….I have spent many hours at my favorite past time. In all my fishing, I have strictly used a spinning rod with lures or bait. For the longest time I have been intrigued with the art of fly fishing and I have a few questions I hope some members here will answer. I can see myself spending most of my fly fishing time at lakes. The size of trout are anywhere from ˝ pound to 4 pounds (brooks, cutthroat, rainbows), and I have no idea what an ideal rod and setup would be for me. I do have a rod that was given to me when my father-in-law passed away. It is a four piece Fenwick Voyageur (SF74-4 7’ 3 7/8oz.) AFTMA Fly Line No.6, and it mentions 1/8-3/8 oz lures, which leads me to believe this is a combo rod. Would this be an OK rod? If not, I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on a different rod/reel and line setup I should look into. I have been saving my pennies and have nearly a $300.00 budget.

Thanks,

Dan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2007, 05:12 AM
resigned

Lake rod

Dan. Check your personal mail. You will find good info there. Welcome to the Forum!

Phil
Old 04-16-2007, 02:21 PM
Pullin' Thread

Dan,