Ethics??????? - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-02-2007, 05:17 PM
Thumper of Drum.

Send a message via AIM to Jamey McLeod Send a message via MSN to Jamey McLeod Send a message via Yahoo to Jamey McLeod
Ethics???????

I have very little experience with Tarpon myself. I have been doing a ton of reading on them and for one lonely week a year I am lucky enough to be in an area that holds resident fish, had four shots, went 0/4, one was a solid hook up. When I was down earlier this year I found it difficult to resist the urge to drop a fly next to the dock one of the two marinas on the island I was on that had what I considered "trained" fish nearby. I had numerous people tell me to try it when I was there, and more have said I should since I returned. The whole thing seemed a bit akin to casting to spawning steelhead, something I don't do.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-03-2007, 12:09 AM

Hi, Jamey,

At least you've hooked a tarpon. I yet to do that after many repeated attempts at dour fish.

I think if you hooked a marina fish you'd feel a bit ashamed, as if your lust to land a tarpon had gotten the better of you and your standards. You mentioned spawning steelhead -- I think you'd feel the same way you would if you deliberatly fished for and caught one of those spawners you mentined above.

I don't think casting to marina tarpon is necessarily unethical, it's just that doing so would seem to cheapen the experience you're after and the goal you're trying to attain.

My .02

Eric
Old 04-04-2007, 01:27 PM
In moderation

Hi Jamey
I don't think that there should be any ethical problem with fishing in a marina. It is, however, in a lot of marinas that I know of not permitted.