Tarpon rod. - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-08-2007, 04:18 PM

Tarpon rod.

What's rods have you used with success on tarpon? Is a 12wt ok? I would like the brand if possible. I'll probably make my own rod so I'm thinking a 12wt Horizon II. I'm after medium size Tarpon . I don't know about the giants that would take a guide for sure. Which I plan to do in the future. Thanks
FishHawk
Advertisement

Old 02-08-2007, 04:26 PM

I'm far from a tarpon expert. Only caught 10-30lbers. Been after the big guys a couple of times come up empty handed. Round two this spring..

I'f your going to for med 50-80lbers I'd build a 10 or 11wt. A 12 is one mean big stick made for the big dogs. In one of Leftys books he said a lot of people have trouble casting larger wt rods (12wt). That a modern 10wt is perfectly capable of landing fish to 100 (can't remember his exact quote I think he said 120lb).

Only an opinion
Old 02-09-2007, 11:49 AM

Bill

I have the Xi2 12 wt and love it!!! My guide and I were messing around with it on my last outing and we were able to bomb out casts that were fly-line and some backing while maintaining a delicate presentation and a great deal of accuracy.

Personal opinion, but I like an ultra fast rod when I'm throwing a line that is that heavy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-09-2007, 12:14 PM
obsessive/compulsive

Send a message via AIM to jimS
Bill, Dave is spot on with the Xi2. I don't know about the other brands, but I do know that the Xi2 is designed for large fish and has a butt section designed for lifting.

I'm not sure that you need a 12wt, unless you are targeting tarpon over 100lbs. A 10wt will handle fish below that weight. Since you already have a Tibor Riptide, you've got the reel for a 10wt. If you go with the 12wt, then you'll have to invest in a Gulfstream.
Old 02-09-2007, 04:11 PM