Andros: Joulter vs. West Side - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-20-2006, 09:32 AM
but the scenery's great

Andros: Joulter vs. West Side

A friend and I are going to Andros next spring. We found a nice setup where a dude owns a small lodging spot and will let us stay there and use his flats boat for the week. We are getting a guide for two of the days, then doing our own thing for the other five days. I have been to other Bahamas spot, but this is my first time to Andros. My question is this: with our two guide days, we are looking at tooling north to Joulter's Cays or through the bights to the westside-one or the other. For you Andros anglers, if you had to choose one or the other, which would it be.

We're on our own for the rest of the five days with a boat, so if you hear of two whiteboys lost at sea next April on CNN, don't expect any more posts from Geordie. should be an adventure, and I can't wait. Thanks for the input.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-20-2006, 09:44 AM

If it's blowing >15 kts from the NW to the NE quadrant, go to the west side; otherwise Joulters would be my preference by far.
Where on the island will you be staying?
Old 10-20-2006, 10:13 AM
but the scenery's great

Andros

We're staying at Hanks Place in Andros Town. One of our two guide days will be getting to know the stuff closer in, but we are heading out on the second day.
Old 10-20-2006, 10:48 AM

If you're at Hank's, fish Fresh Creek. I was down there just last week. The top guide for that area is Brent Mackey, aka 'Bonefish Bradley'. Whom did you book?
I know Fresh Creek and surrounding areas rather well, and would be glad to share detailed insight. Probably the best way to do that would be in person over area charts, but I'm game for other ways, too. P.M. me for detailed info, if you'd like.