new guy - Fly Fishing Forum
The Quintessential Trout Trout angling is the core of flyfishing worldwide.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2006, 10:05 PM

new guy

Hi I'm new in Massachusetts and was wondering (Without giving away sacred spots). If there is any decent Freshwater flyfishing in SE Mass. I'm a saltwater surf fisherman and I just bought my first moderate flyrod and I am Hoooked! I think Ive had more fun practicing on my driveway than Ive had surf fishing these past few weeks. lol
I'm just looking for either stream, pond or brook locations more for practice before I even think about buying salt equipment. I already have waders and shoes I don't care if I catch anything. lol
I am really enjoying watching that fly line in the air. I mean I'm awful at it but like I said I am so hooked right now I havent looked at a plug bomber in weeks.
Thanks guys.

Oh I'll have several stupid questions over the next 80 years or so. lol

Tom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-12-2006, 10:12 PM
Fly chucker

If you're in Southeast MA, the kettle ponds on the Cape can't be too far away. I'd look into those, as I've heard that they have fished quite well over the past couple of seasons.

And welcome to the Forum.
Old 10-13-2006, 07:13 AM
Middle Aged Member

The Trout Unlimited guide is a pretty good resource for the area. I'd drop into the Bears Den in Taunton and pick some brains. There are loads of ponds in the area for warmwater species. JFBasser can provide serious help on that topic. Whereabouts in SE Mass are you?
Old 10-13-2006, 07:29 PM

Thanks guys, Fred I'm in Seekonk.
Old 10-14-2006, 03:04 AM
Middle Aged Member

There is a noted trout stream down that way, forgot the name. You'll be needing a saltwater setup too. You really need to take a ride to the Bears Den (click on the sponsors link above). The sickness begins.
Old 10-14-2006, 03:22 PM
6th Year Apprentice

welcome Tom,