The seafood diet dillema - Fly Fishing Forum
Our Environment We are stewards of wild places

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-21-2006, 10:08 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

The seafood diet dillema

Although I am no expert in this area, I am an avid eater of seafood.

I know the oceans are the target of most of our liquid wastes and that the food chain concentrates contaminants from the microscopic to the predators we eat, but this is the most alarming advisory I have seen yet...

http://www.oceansalive.org/eat.cfm?subnav=healthalerts

Thoughts?
and Founder, Worldwide Flyfishing Forum
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-21-2006, 12:46 PM

Location: Many. From NE salt, Russia, Canadian A Salmon, NW Steelhead, Bahamas, Keys. Live in Upstate NY
Quite aware of most of the data. For several years now, our only supply of salmon come from a commercial fisherman I know in Alaska. At the beginning of the season he sends me two copper river kings . . . via FedEx. They're immediately scaled, filleted, cut into our portion sizes, vac sealed and frozen. It's our entire year's supply of salmon. Being vac sealed, it lasts an entire year. The fish are amazing and come from the wonderfully regulated sustainable Alaska fishery. We eat virtually no farm-raised salmon . . . even in restaurants.

Other fish we eat are Mahi Mahi, halibut and sablefish. Guilty pleasures are the rare grouper and cod. As sushi, I do love saba (king mackerel). We eat tuna (but not bluefin . . . see "Song of the Blue Ocean" by Carl Safina). Haven't had swordfish in years.

We're big consumers of seafood. Also, I might add, we eat shrimp, clams, oysters and lobster. And we're careful where most of it comes from.

Yes, it's absolutely depressing.
Old 08-21-2006, 04:06 PM
stop killing wild fish

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrke
We eat virtually no farm-raised salmon . . . even in restaurants.
So this brings up a big dilema with me.