Low end vice question - Fly Fishing Forum
The Quintessential Trout Trout angling is the core of flyfishing worldwide.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2006, 08:57 AM

Question Low end vice question

Please let me preface this by saying that I am new to fly fishing.

I was reading the thread on fly tying kits and it peaked my interest. So as I was visiting a local Bass Pro Shop here in the Denver area I asked to see their Vise's.
They had a kit with a good selection of tools and materials (specifically for trout flies).It has a vise that they sell for $10 and a video on fly tying all for $50. Sounds like a good deal to me except, what could I expect from the vise? Would it break or not hold the hook after a short time of use?
Seems to me that a kit for $50 would not be a big loss if I decided not to tie flies in the future.

What are your thoughts on a low end vise for a beginner?

Thanks for your help. I am really enjoying learning from reading this forum.

HoldTight...

Last edited by HoldTight; 07-30-2006 at 11:21 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-30-2006, 11:33 PM

Send a message via AIM to teflon_jones Send a message via Yahoo to teflon_jones
Quote:
Originally Posted by HoldTight
Sounds like a good deal to me except, what could I expect from the vise? Would it break or not hold the hook after a short time of use?
That's exactly what you can expect. It won't even hold the hook well to begin with.

Quote:
Originally Posted by HoldTight
What are your thoughts on a low end vise for a beginner?