Advice for a complete beginner please - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-19-2006, 04:46 PM

Advice for a complete beginner please

Well, first of all, hi. Im a complete nebie to fly fishing. I picked up a cheap rod last week and have been trying it out in the river behind my house. I know there are brown trout and some rainbow but I've been having no success whatsoever.

Im wondering what I'm doing wrong. Maybe its the cheap flies I got with the rod or maybe its my casting technique.Think back to when you first started and throw a few hints and tips my way. I had a quick look through the forum and Ive read up a bit about casting techniques and such.

I suppose I can give you a little information to help you out. Its a small river and very low right now due to a heat wave we're having and the fish are small in size and number because the river was only restocked 2-3 years ago after a bad sewage spill.

Luckily enough I live next to a fly fishing lake/club but Id prefer to fish in the river since it runs through my garden. Im not sure what kind of river bed it is but it seems to be limestone.

Any way, thanks in advance for any advice.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-19-2006, 08:15 PM
Flats Rat

Hi and welcome to the forum!

First off, I am very envious since the Emerald Isle brings back so many magical memories for me. To live there and have a wild trout stream run through your backyard, you are truly blessed.

O.K. to your "predicament".

Not sure where you picked up your cheap rod and flies, but most local tackle shops should be able to advise you on what fish would be looking for (hatches etc.) at any point during the season. Did you get your kit from a tackle shop?