Going to Idaho and Wyoming - Fly Fishing Forum
The Quintessential Trout Trout angling is the core of flyfishing worldwide.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2006, 05:29 AM

Going to Idaho and Wyoming

Hi all,
I am planning a trip to Idaho and Wyoming in Late July / August and was wondering if anyone has any experience and or tips they would like to share with me. Being generally located in Central Mass I have never had the experience of fishing out west. Being in what some would call the mecca of trout fishing in the US, I am not going to give up this opportunity. What I am curious about is what some would suggest for equipment ie. tippets and flies. I am very new to fly fishing and like I menytioned, have never fished the west before so any help would be appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-20-2006, 08:20 AM

Do you have specific areas / rivers in mind or are you looking for square one?
Old 06-21-2006, 05:29 AM

We will be staying at Stanley Lake in Idaho and will be spending about a week or so there then will be moving on to Jackson Wy. for a few days. When in Stanley we will be with some people with a boat and such but I believe that the guys are a bunch of bass fishermen and I plan on breaking off a bit to do "my own thing" I hear that the split of the Salmon is a great spot but if you have suggestions...
Old 06-21-2006, 07:26 AM

A friend of mine is an outfitter in the Stanley area. Her website has a lot of information and advice regarding the Sawtooths, upper Salmon and Middle Fork tribs. Check out sawtoothfishingguides(dot com)
Jackson Hole will be very busy, but has lots of opportunities with four or five rivers nearby. Just stop in at a shop and strike up a conversation.

link

Last edited by juro; 06-21-2006 at 07:43 AM.
Old 06-21-2006, 07:43 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

I was about to recommend YOU Ed!