North Shore...Sight fishing? - Fly Fishing Forum
Stripers and Coastal Gamefish Stripers, Blues, Inshore tuna!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-15-2006, 11:57 AM
Shark Bait

Send a message via AIM to Nick Send a message via Yahoo to Nick
North Shore...Sight fishing?

Dave's post got me thinking.

I used to do the Chatham/Brewster flats thing as much as I could. It was like crack. Up at 3 on the cape by dawn...you know the routine. Living in the Boston area it was always like this for me and was a no brainer.

I graduated to a kayak. I started fishing the North shore more as it is closer to my house. I've had success, but honestly I find more success with rubber and (God forbid, T and W). I just don't think I understand the rock fishing as much as the sight fishing.

I now have a boat. It's been a blast so far this year as I just love being on the water. Any weather anytime, through me some salty air and I smile. While learning the water and learning the boat over the past few months, I've gotten lazy. Sluggo's, Sabikis, Mackeral...all are easy to do by myself in the boat. I've found it too tough to probe an area with the fly rod and keep the boat positioned right near the rocks etc. I'm getting better, though. Stay tuned for that story...

What I miss is the gleaming sun, the sand flats, the shadows, the visual experience. I'm looking for that a little closer to home. There's no place for sluggos here as far as I'm concerned. I want the exacting control of a fly placed feet from the prey and dancing it in the water in front of them.

Any one ever had any luck sightfishing much on the North Shore? I've got a few spots but just can't seem to see any fish. Wrong tide, wrong time of day, etc. I think I know the spots mostly, just but I'm looking for a bit of help in strategy I guess...any suggestions besides pointing the trailer south on 95?

PM is cool, thanks for the tips!

Nick
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message