Marco Island first weekend in June - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2006, 06:45 PM

Marco Island first weekend in June

anybody care to suggest any tips for a tarpon/snook/red virgin?
Will be spending a long weekend on Marco. Would like to at least see and get shots at some of the gamefish in the area.
Although it's my first time, my Dad and brothers will be serving as guides. They've had plenty of experience down there.
Still, if anyone has a suggestions, I'd be appreciative. Will be on foot and possibly kayak.
Just looking for tips, hints, suggestions, favorite flies etc, NOT secret spots.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-18-2006, 07:22 PM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Good to hear from you brotha!

I will start, but hope the locals trump me for your sake

Younger tarpon (my favorites) will hunt close to shore in the morning hours and congregate around lighted areas at night. Although I am by no means an expert I can tell you feeding tarpon love shrimp patterns.

A few pointers - they can make very subtle wakes or roll as gently as any trout (big trout) while being ready to explode on your fly on the first strip.

I can think of few fish as exciting as a 30 pound tarpon on light fly tackle. The fly is much less important with tarpon than most gamefish of this caliber, the deal is getting the hook set in that concrete mouth and then keeping the airborne suicidal maniac from breaking the line if you do. One thing's for sure you better not have a heart condition if you find packs of feeders on the hunt.

I would prefer to have an 11t rod where I am doing no blind casting, and a 10wt rod where I might have to probe the waters a bit.

Super heavy tippet is called for, these fish are not line shy and they will pop 20# test like string.