Simplicity, where is it? - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2006, 07:33 PM

Simplicity, where is it?

I am new to the world of fly fishing, well the advanced world of fly fishing. I find it so much more relaxing and simple to just go out to my creek, pond or other waters near by: grab a cane pole, some flies and poppers and i'm off. There is so many terms and equitment for professional fly fishing and it boggles the mind. I have never caught a trout or other big game fish off of a fly, but it is still a thrill to take a rock bass out of a creek, or a big pan sized bluegill out of our local Lagoons. I am only thirteen and i'm new to the site as well. I dont buy the expensive flies, i just make my own or buy some cheap ones from the local Walmart. I guess i'm just a simple folk, but maybe someone here can change my mind and make me think like a real fly fisherman. I dont know much about tippets, leader knots, casting and so forth so I ask that some of you older guys lend some tips. Thanks for your time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-12-2006, 01:16 AM
Pullin' Thread

Actually fly fishing can be as simple or as complex as you desire it to be. In other words, don't worry about whether you have the currently in vogue rod, waders, line, reel, tippet, flies, etc.; instead, do as you are already doing and go out with fly rod in hand (with a fly line of course), toss some flies, poppers, what-have-you at the fish (whether bluegill, bass, trout, salmon, etc.), and have fun.