need a rod - Fly Fishing Forum
Gear Talk - Fly Stuff Spoken Here Sage advice & fresh perspectives

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2006, 09:42 AM

need a rod

hey, i want to buy a good quality fly rod and reel setup that i can use in salt water, for tiger fish, catfish, and also for some big bass...

what weights/actions/lengths etc do you guys recomend, and what reels and line will match?

i'm really new at this, but have a 5 weight, and have learnt and caught a bit on that...

any help will be appreciated greatly, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-16-2006, 04:54 PM

Thumbs up

In my opinion you would be best served by an 8 to 9 weight, medium-fast to fast action, 9 ft fly rod. You don't mention how much you want to spend. I'd go with something you won't "grow out of" too quickly. There are a lot of choices... a few manufacturers to look at are St. Croix, Sage, G. Loomis, Orvis, Temple Fork Outfitters, etc. For nice rods that won't break the bank, I'd recommend St Croix and Temple Fork. Others will undoubtedly give you other recommendations as well. An 8 wt rod will give you plenty of use for in the salt for light to medium duty and in freshwater for big bass. I'd go to the 9 wt if the fish are really big and strong. I haven't personally fly fished for catfish (or Tiger Fish for that matter!), but I'm sure it can be done and an 8 to 9 wt would probably be just the ticket. A fast action rod will allow you to get your fly out there on those windy days. PS, how big are Tiger Fish? I've seen pictures of them with their Barracuda-like teeth, but don't really know much about them. To me they look like a Striper with a mouth full of fangs!