Tarpon Rod Advise - Fly Fishing Forum
Bonefish, Tarpon, and other Obsessions Turquoise water, silver demons on the fly

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 03:17 PM

Tarpon Rod Advise

I have no experiance Tarpon fishing but, I am headed to Belize this summer to try to jump one or two and could use some help. If you were going to buy or make a Tarpon Rod to be used on mid size fish say 90# and under what would it be?
Right now I'm thinking a 9' 10wt Dan Craft FT or maybe even a Loomis GLX. I sure could use some insight from someone with some experiance with these fish.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2006, 03:42 PM

Well TL your in luck (or not) because I have lots of experience tarpon fishing, in Belize and in Florida, ...and I'm not without an opinion.

I fished Sage and Kennedy/Fisher1090's in Belize and at times wished I would have had an 11 weight. There are some big tarpon around Ambegris, and the 11 weight will work for the Florida Keys as well. In Florida I use an 11 for the 12# class tippet record.

I now use mostly 12-13 weights but that's because of the giant tarpon here on this coast.

One thing I would not do on a rod again is put a forward grip. You need to fight a big fish with your hand back as close to the reel as possible. Take advantage of the thicker and stiffer part of the rod.

See I told you I had an opinion, Mel
Old 03-08-2006, 03:55 PM

No thats good! I may be fishing the Keys some day maybe a 11 or 12 wt is the way to go. I have heard that those forward grips look better than they act also heard they can throw the rod off balance while casting. Funny thing about opinions - WE ALL HAVE THEM
Old 03-08-2006, 04:32 PM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

If things work out I can loan you a 12wt two-hander and a matching line. Let me know when and where. it's an 11ft three pc for travel dimensions.

In return we want an article for the site.