Question about Rio Versatip line... - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2006, 06:17 PM

Question about Rio Versatip line...

I have been using Rio's Windcutter versatip Spey line for a few months now with no problem (other than the limited casting abilities of the line. I want to upgrade to Grand Spey). It has worked great for me still.

Since I have been so pleased with the Windcutter versatip, I went out and bought Rio's Versatip for my single handed rod and am a bit disappointed... Doing shorter roll or single handed spey casts (25-40ft) are pretty tough to do. The line isn't loading right even with a perfect 'D' loop behind me and I can't throw a proper loop. I was using the type 4 sinking tip. I think it is because the 15' tips are universal from 4-15wt and aren't properly weighted for my rod and I am throwing roll casts with 50% 9wt and 50% who knows what.... I have not tried a backcast with it because the river I was fishing is only 35ft wide with brush lining it pretty heavily. I am wondering if anyone else has experienced any problems with it. Before I bought this line I was using Cortland's 444 floating line or Scientific angler's sink tip and never had a problem.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-26-2006, 08:09 PM

Another reason

why it is so important to test before you buy. The Grandspey is a long belly line, and unless you are experienced you may have some trouble with the longer belly. The midspey will get you to 70" plus with no shooting, so unless you anticipate longer distance, it might be a better choice.