Fly Fishing Forum banner

Lightweight Rod

1K views 4 replies 5 participants last post by  teflon_jones 
#1 ·
I'm new to the activity and started out with a (TFO) 9ft 5 weight. Most of my fishing this season has been with dry flies on small mountain streams here in California where I'm casting 10-25 ft. In this situation, the 5 wt seems to overpower the small fish I'm catching. I'd like to try a much lighter weight rod and started looking at 2 wts. The material I've found on the web by some users of these ultralight rods (like Bill Byrd's site and Arthur Burton's article on this site) all talk about how much fun they are. Nevertheless, all the salespeople in several of my local fly shops, and some of the messages I've found on this board are pretty negative about anything less than a 3 wt. One local shop guy even steered me away from a 2 wt the shop had in stock (a TFO Professional 8 ft) recommending instead a 3 wt model they would have to order. It's very difficult to get hands-on experience with these rods, since few shops have 2 wts in stock and those that do aren't really set up (with appropriate test reels and lines) so that you can cast them.

The most consistent criticism I've heard applied to 2 wts is that they are incapable of casting anything but the smallest flies. It's unclear to me, however, how much experience the 2 wt critics have, or whether they are just passing on conventional wisdom. So, I'm curious about what folks on this board who have fished 2wts have to say about the comparison between 2 and 3 wts and what they think about the ability of 2wts to cast reasonable sized flys (e.g., 14-size drys and small nymphs) in a small stream situation.

See less See more
#2 ·