new guy needs some advice - Fly Fishing Forum
Great Lakes Steelhead & Salmon Amazing "Inland ocean" fisheries

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-19-2005, 08:17 PM

new guy needs some advice

I'm relatively new to fly fishing this year. I have a Reddington 5wt combo that I recieved a few years back as a gift, but I never got around to learning how to fly fish. Well, after a trip to the Ausable(NY) river this summer, i got the itch to get going! I got myself a Cabelas 7pc 5wt rod that I can take on the bike when the urge hits too. I know its a KPOS to the ROFF guys, but for the price, i couldn't beat it, and it seems pretty darn nice.

I've been out for trout a few times on the Genesee, but it's been a really hot summer here. Hoping to get back down there when it cools off a bit.

Anyhow, I'm thinking I'd like to try steelhead this year on the Erie tribs. I'm thinking of getting a 9'6 or 10' 8wt rod for this and possibly some salmon fishing as well.
Any advice, pro-con's to either one as far as length would be appreciated. I'd like to stay in the $200-250 range for both the rod and reel if possible.

Thanks for any help....Seems like a great forum. I've been doing quite a bit of reading

Last edited by HawgFlies; 08-19-2005 at 08:20 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-20-2005, 01:15 PM

Lightbulb

H,

Well congrats on getting "Hooked" ...

As for a steelhead/salmon rod, ... there are lots of good sticks out there. I only recently had a chance to try out the TFO rods and I was impressed (not just 'cause they are sponsors here).

The $$ part of your heavy rod is the reel. The reel on heavier rods is (imho) a bit more important than on a small trout rod. You need a good smooth drag and enough space for backing. The TFO reels look good, ... but I haven't tried them, ... so I can't comment. http://www.templeforkflyrods.com