HELP! - Fly Fishing Forum
Yak Attack Kayaks and flyfishing = ultimate stealth

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-11-2005, 06:45 PM

HELP!

i am new to kayak fishing and would like some advice on a good beginner boat for myself , as well as my sons , ages 13 and 12 . i am 6`0 tall and weigh 210 lbs. my boys are average for their ages. we will be mostly in small lakes with the occasional ride to the coast for some inshore and backwater fishing. any suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-11-2005, 09:29 PM
Flats Rat

There is a huge selection of great kayaks out there now, many designed specifically for fishing. My advice for a fishing platform is to go with a sit-on-top design and then dress according to the water temperature.

All of the major manufacturers have a range of sizes from compact 12 footers (which are very nice and very functional) up to 16ft. The longer boats are faster and give you a drier ride - bear in mind that 'dry ride' is a relative term. As new models come onto the market, a lot of folks upgrade and sell off their existing boat - often at a very good price.
Old 07-11-2005, 10:16 PM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Perhaps the most important piece of equipment will be the flotation devices for the boys.

It would be nice if you could join the three craft together to form a nice casting platform when needed
and Founder, Worldwide Flyfishing Forum
Old 07-11-2005, 11:32 PM

Steve -