Which line best to use for bass - Fly Fishing Forum
Warmwater flyfishing Bass, pike and even muskies in your backyard

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-13-2005, 08:23 PM

Which line best to use for bass

Hello, I'm fishing my area reservoirs and am wondering which line is the best for bass. Most of the bass are holding at about 10-15 feet of water. If I use a long leader on a floating line will it get down that deep. Or would a sinking tip line or sinking line be better with a shorter leader?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-13-2005, 10:23 PM
Whip some bass

I'm by no means an expert but I think that if they're past about 7 feet, you're going to need a sinking or at least a sink tip line to get streamers down to them. If you use floating line you would need a leader about 18 feet long and a super heavy fly to get anywhere near the fish. JMO, but I think you'd benefit from a sinking line in this situation.
Old 06-14-2005, 08:30 AM
Fly chucker

I agree with carbon. Even if you did use a floating line an a very, very long leader you would probably have diffficulty detecting some strikes from bass. A sink tip or sinking line would be much better.
Old 06-14-2005, 01:13 PM

Send a message via AIM to teflon_jones Send a message via Yahoo to teflon_jones
Sink tip line is definitely needed. Anything past about 5' and I think you need one or else you get a weird retrieve because a floating line is constanly going go be pulling the lure up through the water column. The jigging effect can work, but all in all I'd rather have the sink tip. Scientific Angler's Mastery Series are what I use.

Last edited by teflon_jones; 06-14-2005 at 01:13 PM.
Old 06-14-2005, 02:47 PM

Thanks guys much appreciated.
Old 06-14-2005, 02:50 PM

How 'bout a bass bug line. Would that give the same effect as a sinking or sinking tip. Is that line more specialized for bass fishing?
Old 06-14-2005, 03:06 PM
Fly chucker