panfish on fly rod??? - Fly Fishing Forum
Warmwater flyfishing Bass, pike and even muskies in your backyard

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-13-2005, 09:53 PM
learning to fly

panfish on fly rod???

occasionally i like to take the gf out in the canoe on a warm summer day. she likes to fish but isnt into anything crazy so i ussually just go to some dead water and we have fun catching perch, and smaller bass and sun fish. i am thinking about taking the fly rod along with me the next time we go out. it will give me a chance to practice fly fishing (i am a newbie) and at the same time have a nice relaxing day with the gf. I am thinking that this also may be a good time for me to try nymphs. any thoughts on what to try, or what not to try?

thanks, nate
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-13-2005, 10:05 PM
tubin' for a bruisin'

Send a message via AIM to flyjkol
Thumbs up

sounds like loads of fun!

for panfish bright and flashy colors do wonders, and when the conditions are right tiny poppers are the most fun and addicting way to catch them.

As for specific patterns flash-back hares ear would be good if you want to try nymphs. Other than that my favorites include the standard "bumble bee" wet fly and a sponge spider.
Old 04-14-2005, 02:23 PM

Send a message via AIM to teflon_jones Send a message via Yahoo to teflon_jones