Leech pattern question - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2005, 08:12 PM
SteelFeathers

Leech pattern question

Any suggestions fishing marabou/bunnie-type leeches in rivers for steelhead?

I've tried everything from dead drifting, to swinging, to stripping. Apparently, I'm not very good at it since I am not successful in catching fish with them.

Also, I was wondering if anyone had suggestions regarding the use of cones and/or barbells for weight. If I use a turned-up eye hook and put the barbell on top, it seems that the position of the fly in the water is erratic. But when I use a staright-eyed hook I can place the barbell on the underside of the eye (i.e. - with the hook in the typical downward position) the fly swims with the hook in the upward position, making for fewer snags on the bottom. For this reason I have quit using cones.

Any comments and suggestions are appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2005, 08:37 PM

Sounds like steelheading! Don't get discouraged. Swinging a black or purple rabbit leach WILL catch steelhead...period. It took me about three years of beating the water to a froth before I fished with any confidence. The key is not the fly but rather the holding water and then covering it effectively.

For weighting my leach pattern I have been putting the lead under the body on the shank and not using the barbells or the cones.

Chris
Old 02-27-2005, 09:12 PM
Junkyard Spey

Hey Gator...

Quote:
The key is not the fly but rather the holding water and then covering it effectively.
Sometimes it's the fly. The hot fly yesterday was an orange body, purple marabou, and a hackle of Fl. blue and orange guinea. Margo's old man got 3 out of your "skatin water" by the black jack tables
Old 02-27-2005, 10:09 PM