Leech Question/Thoughts - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-26-2005, 09:38 PM
SteelFeathers

Question Leech Question/Thoughts

Any suggestions fishing marabou/bunnie-type leeches in rivers for steelhead?

I've tried everything from dead drifting, to swinging, to stripping. Apparently, I'm not very good at it sinceI am not successful in catching fish with them.

Also, I was wondering if anyone had suggestions regarding the use of cones and/or barbells for weight. If I use a turned-up eye hook and put the barbell on top, it seems that the position of the fly in the water is erratic. But when I use a staright-eyed hook I can place the barbell on the underside of the eye (i.e. - with the hook in the typical downward position) the fly swims with the hook in the upward position, making for fewer snags on the bottom. For this reason I have quit using cones.

Any comments and suggestions are appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-27-2005, 07:50 AM

Location: My "home waters" really belong to the beavers........and they let me know it now and then !
Hi Steelfeathers,

You will get many replys to this if posted in the Pacific Steelhead forum.
Old 03-09-2005, 09:54 PM

SteelFeathers
I fish leaches on the swing - the slower the better! If you put in the time with leaches in the correct water for holding fish you will get the hits, just don't use light leaders!
speydoc
Old 03-09-2005, 10:45 PM
Swinger of Flies

It'll come man.......have faith.

I'd venture to say that ALOT if not MOST PNW Steelheaders have some bunny and marabou in their boxes.

As for barbells or coneheads.....depends on the water and also if you are throwing tips or not. Sink tips will (For the most part) eliminate the need for additional weight on a fly.