Skill of fishing? - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-26-2005, 04:56 PM
fish on.

Skill of fishing?

Hi, I'm new to all this and being the curious person I am, I have a few questions about the skill of fishing.

I am wondering why some of ya'll Flyfish rather than bait fish or flyfish with a spinning rod?

Does it have to do with the skill involved? Is there skill in spinner fishing and bait fishing? does flyfishing make you feel better than other fishermen/women? Do you flyfish because its more challenging?

Any history about why you flyfish rather than fish other ways would be helpfull. Also when did you learn? Did you switch from another kind of fishing?

I always fished with flys in Uinta Lakes using spinners and flys with no fly rod. I enjoyed it but am now learnign the ways of the fly rod. I'm not trying to cause contention, just wondering.

Thanks for your responses!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2005, 05:48 PM

For me its the challenge of catching a fish with a rod that I built and with a fly that I have tied. I like the challenge. There is nothing that beats catching a difficult trout on a size 24 midge fly that I have tied.
I also like the explosive strike of a striper on the hunt. Also, sight fishing to crusing stripers on the flats is a most rewarding experience for me. These are some of the reasons why I like to fly fish.
Old 01-26-2005, 06:10 PM
*** FORUM SPONSOR ***

Location: York-Dartmouth-St-Jean-Cap-Chat-Madeleine-Pabos-Grande-Rivière
Moi!!

Hi,
I llike dry fly fishing (especially...) seeing those fish come up for my dry fly is quite a thrill ....... unless I pull my line in too fast!!

But then, I can still fish!!

Also, it's a clean sport ( meaning I don't like touching bait. ) a challenge and a "detente!"

Cheers!

Success with your fishing this year!!

A...