Fly Fishing Forum banner

Kayaks

5K views 18 replies 11 participants last post by  Adrian 
#1 ·
I told you guys when I first joined the board, I had a lot of questions. I'm just making good on my promise. Several people have mentioned using a kayak when fishing for stripers. I believe I have good kayak waters on Long Island Sound. Where do I start? I'm a true beginner. I need advise on length, width, type, construction....everything! By the way. I did great with the sun glasses. Action Optics at 50% off.

Jimmy

#2 ·
Jimmy ,all I can tell you is that I have a tri-balance and I will give you more details on it but there is a web site on that kind of kayak which has pontoons for stability. I think there are others on this site which use Kayaks as well. I know Marvin and Doogue have them as well as others who's names escape me for the moment. Did you also do a search of this board because I think there may be a long thread on this in the archives.

#3 ·
Hi Jimmy -

Did a search on the word kayak in Stripers and on Flyfishing Gear (hold the Ctrl key to do multiple selection) and it came up with lots of reading...

(link removed - temp results only work on the computer where the search was first done)

#5 ·