Problem with Spey Line - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-29-2004, 07:26 PM

Problem with Spey Line

I'm a newbie to fishing with a spey rod. Have had a Sage 14' 9 wt. for about a year. One of the reasons I haven't fished it much is that the line I bought with my set up - an Airflo Two Handed Multi-tip - has been out of commission. Last winter I was fishing on the West side during a snow fall and the line cracked immediately below the loop weld (on the main line, not the tip). The fly shop I bought the set up from replaced the line without cost, but it took months (like 3) for them to get a new line from Airflo. Recently, the exact same thing happened, this time on an Eastside stream in sub-freezing temps. I don't know if this line is prone to cracking at the loop weld in sub-freezing temps or if there's something about my cast that is putting too much stress on it, but needless to say I'm sort of losing confidence in the line. I'm guessing that if I go back to the fly shop they will get me a new line, but I'm not sure I want one if it's just going to crack again during the time of the year when I most inclined to fish a spey rod. I'm trying to figure out if there is a home remedy for this problem, because other than the cracking problem I like the line. If I were to cut off the loop and loop weld and make my own loop at the tip, is that going to adversely affect the castability of this line? (Airflo boasts that because the loop and loop weld is made out of the same material as the line itself, it eliminates hinging.) If you think this would be a satisfactory solution, how should I construct the new loop? On a shooting head system I built for my single hander, I've exposed a little bit of flyline core at the tip of a floater, looped back to form a loop and held in place with tying thread, a little superglue and some pliobond to