Moose Hair - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Salmon & Steelhead Flies Spey flies to mixed wings, new innovations

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2004, 04:42 PM
LBFF Mojo

Moose Hair

I tied up a batch of dark grease liners the other day and used moose for the wing. They riffle hitched awesome and was quite happy with the results.

I have never used moose before and was curious if someone could shed some light on the boyancy/durability properties of moose compared to elk and deer hair.

Thanks,

-sean
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-07-2004, 05:28 PM

Moose body hair or mane hair is generally a lot longer and more durable, stiffer and about the same boyancy as deer & Elk.
There are many types of moose hair depending on which part of the body it comes from
I use it mostly for underwings to prop up the wings and keep them stiffer.
The shorter moose hair or tips of the long ones is ideal for making split tails on small dries.
Check your PM
Old 07-07-2004, 05:30 PM

Sean,
My experience with moose hair is that it isn't as buoyant as deer or caribou, however it is much more durable than either. Because of the stiffness inherent to the hair it riffles better than anything else I've used, certainly much better than squirrel, calf tail or bear. I've never tried to spin it to use on a dry fly, but I don't think it would float very well anyway. I use it almost exclusively on most all wetfly patterns, and have had wonderful results.
Tight lines!
Sayow

Last edited by sayow; 07-07-2004 at 07:57 PM.
Old 07-07-2004, 05:57 PM
Pullin' Thread

Sean,