orvis t3 rod - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-24-2004, 06:26 PM

orvis t3 rod

I am new to serious fly fishing. I have scheduled a trip to Montana in August. I am cosidering buying a 5wt Orvis T3 rod. Any suggestions? Good choice?

Thanks for any comments.

Bob Mercier

. .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-24-2004, 09:40 PM
Law Student

Send a message via AIM to brooklynangler
I wouldn't

No reason to spend that kind of money if you don't want to. There are no qualitative differences between that rod and certain lower cost ones.

I would look closely at the Temple Forks TiCR rods. Same kind of very modern, GLX-style fast action as the T3. You could get two for the price of one T3 and, again, there is no qualitative difference.

In the "two-for one" zone I'd also think about the lower end Sage rods...excellent rods in the under $300. The cheaper ones also have a much more useful casting stroke than some of the higher end sage single handers.

If are comfortable with spending $500+, then Thomas and Thomas, Scott, and Steffen Brothers are builders of merit who take the time to spline their rods and are very careful about construction methods.

Finally, I'd think also about a cane rod if I were inclined to spend $600+ on a trout rod. Graphite rods have a tendency of being almost valueless a few years after purchase. Not so with cane. Look up makers such as Jeff Fultz, A.J. Thramer, Mike Brooks. These guys are making affordable ($600-900) cane rods that are every bit as good as the best graphite rods of today. Forget about cane being slow and sloppy. AND, your rod will likely appreciate handsomely so that you may even profit from the purchase. At the least you'll break even. That simply will not happen with a graphite rod.