Big run on white marabou? - Fly Fishing Forum
>> Archive: Striper (etc) Flies Tricks of the trade

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-26-2004, 11:37 AM

Angry Big run on white marabou?

Hit three different fly shops in maine today to tie some last min. flies no white marabou to be found any where! they tell me universal vice is gone out of business
Advertisement

Old 05-27-2004, 09:08 AM

Send a message via AIM to ashbourn
No way.
Damn, they have had great stuff for a long time now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-27-2004, 11:22 AM

try ostrich.com or tonyhill.net feather dealers The price of feathers from flyshops are marked up at least twice if not three times.
Pete
Old 05-27-2004, 01:13 PM
Pullin' Thread

Folks,

I've been a professional/commercial tyer for over 20 years and I have bought a lot of marabou in that time, some excellent, some good, some simply awful. For the average fly tyers, the best place to buy marabou is a fly shop because a shop wants your continued business and will not sell marabou of poor quality. Just because a particular supplier of peg-board packaged material goes out of business (Universal Vise for instance) doesn't mean a shop cannot get marabou from a different supplier. It also doesn't mean that you can't get it from a different shop.