A 5 day perspective on 2 handed rods - Fly Fishing Forum
Stripers and Coastal Gamefish Stripers, Blues, Inshore tuna!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-17-2004, 10:11 PM
I remember sometimes...,

Thumbs up A 5 day perspective on 2 handed rods

There has been alot of posts and interest this past winter on the 2 handed rods. I thought I'd give my perspective, after my first 5 days fishing with my new Atlantis. To set the stage, I am a novice with the two handers, although I have been flyfishing for stripers for the past 15 years. I got the rod in Dec. and practiced with it on the local football field, before coming to the Cape.
Over the past two weeks I have fished 5 days with the Altantis. I spent a good bit of the winter fussing and fooling with lines that I thought should work. I put some posts up about the system that I ended up with. I have gotten alot of questions about "what line is best?", most folks are really asking "which one cast the furthest?". Not really a fair question, as my standard 9' 9 wt will cast my teeney 450 further than my 9wt. floater, yet both are used in completely different circumstances. The same goes for Atlantis lines. LC-13 cast the furthest, but the clear intermediate does fine also. Like any rod, the feel is different with different lines. You just adjust your timing alittle.
The weather over the past 2 weeks on the Cape was typical, sunny, windy, rainy, gusty, overcast..., sometimes all in the same day!
Below are my observations, as a novice "two hander";
1-The orvis sized stripping basket is adequate
2-line control takes alittle getting used to, I missed several fish on the first two days.
3-You need to pinch the line with both hands (use your middle finger) when casting, or you will lose it.
4-keep a straight line with the rod when casting, otherwise the loop will get funky. A slower, more powerful casting stroke seemed to work best, especially when starting.