Agreeing with common knowledge - Fly Fishing Forum
Pacific Northwest Sea Run Forum No such thing as rainbow trout, only landlocked steelhead

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-25-2004, 12:28 PM

Agreeing with common knowledge

I am a student of the steelhead and Spey casting. My question is, How much of the common knowledge on these pages do you agree with? My latest question deals with the loud clicker reels. I was brought up in the era when we had a lot of steelhead and it was an honer to land a fish near someone quietly and secretely. It was always a great achievement to land a few fish that no one knew about. This would not be easy with a loud reel. Jerry
Advertisement

Old 04-25-2004, 04:04 PM
Chief of E.P.

Jerry,

All in all, I find fly-talk to be a knowledgable board and would say that I agree with the majority of the "wisdom" posted here. Some days that might be 90 percent and some days only 51. Still that is a lot better than I can say about some of the other boards.

I was thinking about this while fishing this morning and the great thing for me about this site is the vast majority of posts are discussions about the sport. Be this the holding tendencies of post-flood fish or the specific nuances of a particular rod and line combination. There is no chest thumping about fish caught or attempts to find the magic fly or the hot hole. For the most part, those that post here are beyond all that. Speaking for myself, I find that refreshing.