Flyfishing in Canada - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-04-2001, 07:43 PM
Recent Member

Flyfishing in Canada

I'm sure to sound "flaky" in this note, but please keep in mind that I'm only beginning the planning stage for a mini-vacation around July 6-20.

First, how traditionally good is the flyfishing and how bad are the mosquitos in Yellowknife during the above period. Are good spots easily attainable by ordinary passenger vehicle and wading? Good opportunities wading streams - or is best action on lakes?

Next, as a back-up to the above in case responses are discouraging, how good are conditions in the south - around Jasper? I've fished loads in Montana, but have consistantly noted a mysterious or sinister lack of visible fishermen the moment I cross the border northbound, though the rivers instantly attain a gorgeous glacial blue. I've mostly hiked and biked the Banff area (not to mention hiking outside Pangnirtung - on Baffin - where the Arctic char were fun for an hour or so before leaving. Delicate takes on a streamer - I had to be careful, as I needed the food, which dried almost instantly in the wind and lasted about a week, slung over knapsack - and tasted good with wild lichen and sorrel.)

Excuse the blathering - just need info on Yellowknife and Jasper. Wading streams, size of fish, hostility of regulations, etc.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-04-2001, 09:21 PM

Yellowknife is better for lakes and some bigger rivers. Fly-in lodges abound around ther and YK is the main departure point. Great lakers and pike on the fly are avilable around YK. Jasper does not have as many mosquitoes and lots of streams with Rainbows and Browns. Maligne lake is a must but you likely need a boat or tube of some sort.