Greetings from Denmark - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2001, 10:04 AM
Recent Member

Send a message via ICQ to Martin
Greetings from Denmark

Hello fellow flyfishers!

I was just searching the net for interesting flyfishing sites, and now look where I end up.

I am already an inveterate flyfisher even though I began flyfishing in January this year. So I am still a beginner but my casting abilities have improved a lot since my first feeble casting attemps on a nearby lawn.

I prefer saltwater flyfishing without any doubt. I guess it's getting competitive - making longer and longer casts, that is. Currently I am trying to figure out how to cast with a shooting head but I am not doing that well.

Best regards,

Martin, Denmark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-09-2001, 10:26 AM
Flats Rat

Hi Martin, welcome to the forum! You'll find a lot of great information here and more importantly, a lot of experienced anglers who will freely give a great deal of good advice.

I've heard about the great sea trout fishing off the coast of Denmark - tell us all about your experiences!
Old 05-09-2001, 10:46 AM

Martin....
Greetings and welcome! Don't be a stranger!
I've been to Copenhagen and Herlev and was very impressed with the Danish attitude and hospitality.
When it comes to managing/casting a weighted line or shooting head...I've had fairly good results with a version of the "circle cast" or "Belgian cast"...try keeping the end of the weighted section very close to the rod tip. Gently at first, don't apply too much "umph" (power) or you risk over stressing your rod and shattering the tip.