Marlboro - day one - Fly Fishing Forum
Worldwide Flyfishing Discussion Talk flyfishing with members around the world!

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-17-2004, 04:50 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Marlboro - day one

Please chime in with your perspectives, here's mine from Friday...

Attendance: really pretty good, despite cold weather which seemed to help get people wishin' I suppose.

Products I played with:

Although I am just getting started with my tour of the show, I did have the pleasure of casting the new Sage Xi2 and had the opportunity to chat with Cathy Beck and Jerry Siem at the Sage booth. Good to have our own "Princess Fly (Di)" in Cathy, and there's something convincing about talking to the chief rod designer of Sage. The rod did exactly what he said it would do, and I was impressed. Light, superior pick up of line, and the line jumps off the rod like it means business. It takes a different stroke than my favorite RPLXi series rods, but fishing one for a trip or two would definitely tune me into being more dangerous to fish on the flats. I also loved the jewel-blue finish.

Spotted Josko casting a few T&T single handers and I couldn't resist but to take a few casts before he handed them back to Trevor Bross. Feather light, super smooth and a real pleasure to cast. The lines were well stretched and in very good condition, which really made a difference verses some other demo rods along the pool that had crappy lines that took a lot away from the experience. The Horizon, the Vector, the Helix - I liked them all and the fit and trim was exceptional as always. I asked Trevor about our tentative plan to visit T&T's factory right here in MA when the trout fishing gets going in April. He replied that not only would we get the factory tour but he'd show us some sweet spots on the trout streams as well! Keep an eye open if you are in New England and interested in the "road trip".