hotrod pontoon - Fly Fishing Forum
Inflatable Watercraft Rafts, pontoon boats, kickboats, etc.

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2004, 10:51 AM
just say no to bait

hotrod pontoon

Hello to all
I've been monitoring this board for about 2 years and only now able to participate [ you know...work]. I was given a pontoon boat for christmas and was wondering if there was any setup tricks? Mods to make it perform better or last longer. I thought with all the pontoon boats out there somebody must have come up with something....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-11-2004, 09:04 AM
just say no to bait

Cat got your tongue?
Old 01-11-2004, 09:48 AM
Coast2coast Flyfishaholic

Must've missed your orig post.

I have the Bronco and have made a few mods to it. First off for the single hander I put a section of lightwall PVC cut to accomodate the reel seat as a rod holder, just tie-wrapped it to the frame and it worked like a charm. The two-handers were a little more work to control.

Also put a lanyard with stainless clips on the front d-rings so I could stand up, fish and step downriver with the lanyard resting on my legs.

The platform behind my seat accomodates a 40-something quart cooler, but most often I would just use a roll-top sealine bag and a small padded cooler inside for lunch.

The unit comes with saddle bags on either side of the seat so there was no need to get carried away with additional storage systems.

One thing I always felt I should've had was an extra oar.
Old 01-11-2004, 04:09 PM
flyfishing catarafter

Send a message via AIM to Steelheader69 Send a message via Yahoo to Steelheader69
Sorry

I must've missed the post too. Actually, what boat do you have first? That will help out alot. That way can set up modifications. Some have different frame setups, and premade storage. So give us the make/model and we'll go from there.
Old 01-12-2004, 01:38 PM
just say no to bait

Thanks